Statehood No Other Way (NOW) Foundation

Statehood – No Other Way!

In Historic Vote, House Passes H.R. 51, the Washington, DC Admission Act

On a near party-line vote, members of the U.S. House of Representatives passed (by a vote of 232-180) legislation to make the District of Columbia the 51st state on June 26, 2020.

Representative Collin Peterson (MN) was the only Democrat to vote “NAY.” Delegate Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC-At-Large) introduced on January 3, 2019, H.R. 51, the Washington, DC Admission Act. The bill had 227 cosponsors (less four due to death, resignation and withdrawal.)

Comments are closed.