Statehood No Other Way (NOW) Foundation

Statehood – No Other Way!

Join the DC Committee of 100

snowf logo + youre invited
Join the fight to make the citizens of the District equal by making Washington, DC the 51st state!

When Alaska wanted to revive their statehood movement, they created the “Alaska Statehood Committee” to raise awareness and generate support across the country for Alaska statehood. The committee was made up of 100 well-known Americans who supported their efforts. They included such luminaries as Eleanor Roosevelt, Pearl S. Buck, Arthur Schlesinger, John D. Rockefeller and many others who had interests in Alaska.

The committee became affectionatly known as the Committee of 100. These people helped lobby Congress, spread the word and gain support for the movement. In the end it worked; the movement was reborn and Alaska became the 49th state of the Union.

Join the DC Committee of 100 by sending your name, title and affiliation to

Comments are closed.